Books

7 Books Like THE COUPLE NEXT DOOR That Will Have You Facet-Eyeing Your Neighbors

I’m a sucker for a twisty, turny psychological thriller. I particularly love those that begin with seemingly common individuals and slowly peel again the layers. What could possibly be extra entertaining than discovering that all is just not what it appears, proper? Home thrillers are the last word instance, and books like The Couple Subsequent Door are the last word home thrillers.

Because the title suggests, home thrillers usually focus on household, the house, and relationships between characters. They play into our fears about no matter goes on behind closed doorways. They’re possibly even a bit of bit relatable (although hopefully not too relatable) making all of them the extra terrifying.

For those who haven’t learn it already, The Couple Subsequent Door follows Anne Marie and Marco Conti and their new child daughter Cora. The story hinges on a criminal offense that happens whereas the Contis are attending a celebration at their neighbors’ home. On the hunt for much more books that reveal the key lives of households? Listed here are seven strategies for books like The Couple Subsequent Door.

1. The Spouse Between Us by Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen

The place have you ever been should you haven’t heard of The Spouse Between Us? I used to be reticent going into it, as a result of it’s one other a kind of e-book that depends closely on selling the large twist to draw readers. Nevertheless it’s a home thriller with shocking depth and coronary heart. The much less going into this one, the higher. At first look, it seems to be a few girl obsessed along with her ex-husband’s new fiancé. However that’s removed from the complete story.

2. Behind Closed Doorways by B.A. Paris

Like The Couple Subsequent Door, this was one of many buzziest thrillers of 2017. It tells the story of a seemingly excellent couple named Jack and Grace—rich, fashionable, fortunately in love—whose marriage harbors darkish secrets and techniques.

Little Fires Everywhere coverthree. Little Fires In every single place by Celeste Ng

Little Fires In every single place straddles the road between home thriller and literary fiction. This New York Instances bestseller is concerning the intersection between two households in Shaker Heights, Cleveland—the historically nuclear Richardsons and a single mom named Mia Warren and her daughter Pearl—and what occurs when their lives intersect.

four. The Widow by Fiona Barton

I learn The Widow a number of years in the past as a part of a company-wide e-book membership I participated in at my earlier job. Reality be instructed, I wasn’t an enormous fan. However don’t let that cease you from checking it out; this novel impressed vigorous debate amongst my coworkers. Disagreeing about books is nearly as enjoyable as studying them, no? For a quick plot abstract, The Widow is a few girl named Jean who hasn’t revealed all she is aware of concerning the horrible crime her husband has been accused of committing.

5. The Different Widow by Susan H. Crawford

This e-book was a enjoyable discover from a pile of mysteries my grandma allowed me to choose by way of lately: Minutes after Joe tells Dorrie they’ve to finish their ongoing illicit affair, the couple is concerned in a automobile crash that kills Joe immediately. The following drama consists of each a riveting thriller about who wished them useless and an interesting portrayal of what it means to grieve a secret relationship.

My Sister, The Serial Killer cover6. My Sister, the Serial Killer by Oyinkan Braithwaite

Whereas not just like The Couple Subsequent Door in tone, My Sister, The Serial Killer will definitely attraction to home thriller followers who admire a touch of satire. Narrated by Korede, whose sister Ayoola has an unlucky behavior of murdering her boyfriends as soon as she’s over courting them, it is a snappy thriller with a heavy dose of darkish humor. The very best half? It’s below 240 pages, so you may learn it in a day. And consider me, you’ll wish to.

7. The Excellent Nanny by Leila Slimani

This chilling novel is a few seemingly “excellent” nanny who finally ends up committing an unthinkable crime.

Signal as much as obtain Verify Your Shelf, the Librarian’s One-Cease Store For Information, E-book Lists, And Extra.

Thanks for signing up! Regulate your inbox.

By signing up you conform to our Phrases of Service

We now have 5 copies of My Sister, the Serial Killer by Oyinkan Braithwaite to disclose to E-book Riot readers! Go right here to enter for an opportunity to win, or simply click on the picture under. Good luck!

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Close